Edward T. Cline
Professor Ed Cline received his PhD in 1966 from the California Institute of Technology. He was a member of the OU Mathematics Faculty from 1989 until his retirement in 2006. His research interests include Algebraic Geometry, Linear Algebraic Groups, Representation Theory and cohomology theories. He served the university and the Mathematics Department in many roles, including Director of Graduate Studies and Chair of the Faculty Senate. The university's Faculty Development Awards are named in his honor.
Leonid A. Dickey
Professor Leonid Aleksandrovich Dickey received his PhD in 1956 from Moscow State University. After a distinguished career in Russia, both in mathematics and in atmospheric sciences, he came to OU in August 1990 and was an active member of the Mathematics Department until his retirement in 2009. He is the author of over 80 research publications in the areas of Partial Differential Equations and Mathematical Physics, and applied mathematics. His 1991 book Soliton Equations and Hamiltonian Systems is considered a classic in the field. Professor Dickey is a recipient of the George Lynn Cross Research Professorship, the university's highest research accolade.
Walter G. Kelley
Professor Walter Kelley received his BS degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1968, and his doctorate from the University of Colorado in 1972. He then joined the OU Mathematics Faculty until his retirement in 2003. His research interests lie in Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations and Difference Equations, especially boundary value problems, singular perturbations, asymptotic behavior, and applications. In addition to numerous research publications, he has authored two books on Difference and Differential Equations. In 1998 he was the winner of the MAA Regional Outstanding Teacher Award and was named Associates' Distinguished Lecturer.
Curtis C. McKnight
Professor Curtis McKnight received his doctorate from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign in 1976.
Darryl J. McCullough
Professor Darryl McCullough received his doctorate from the University of Michigan in 1978 and joined the OU Math Department in the same year. He is the author of numerous research papers in low-dimensional topology, and a frequent speaker at national and international conferences. His service contributions to the department, the University and the mathematics community as a whole are outstanding. For his many achievements he was awarded a presidential professorship in 2007. After devoting his entire professional career to the OU Mathematics Department, Professor McCullough retired in 2011. He now lives in southwest Florida and grows tropical fruit.
Andy R. Magid
Professor Andy Magid received his BA degree from the University of California at Berkeley in 1966, and his PhD degree in Mathematics from Northwestern University in 1969. Before joining the OU Math faculty he was a Ritt Assistant Professor at Columbia University from 1969 to 1972. He is the author of over 85 research papers and 5 books, and editor of 4 conference proceedings. In 1989 he was named George Lynn Cross Research Professor for his work in Algebra, Algebraic Geometry and Algebraic Groups. He received the Regent's Awards for Superior Research and Creative Activity (1979), Superior Service (1996) and Superior Teaching (2002), the only faculty member to date to receive all three of these awards. Professor Magid retired in 2012 after 40 years of service. He is a fellow of the American Mathematical Society.
Marilyn Breen
Professor Marilyn Breen received her B.A. from Agnes Scott College, where she was admitted to Phi Beta Kappa, and she received her Ph.D. from Clemson University in 1970. She came to the University of Oklahoma as a post doc in 1971 and received a tenure track appointment in 1973. Her research is in the area of convexity (convex geometry), where she has published over 135 research articles. In teaching, she introduced both the Convexity sequence and the Graph Theory sequence, and she twice received the math graduate student organization's "outstanding teacher" award. Other recognition from OU includes faculty research awards and selection as an Associates' Distinguished Lecturer. Professor Breen retired in 2012. She is a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.
Semion Gutman
Professor Semion Gutman received his MA degree from the Kharkiv University in Ukraine in 1972, and his Ph.D. from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1983. He was with the Department of Mathematics at University of Oklahoma from 1985 until his retirement in 2014. His research is in the area of Applied Mathematics. He wrote seventy papers on various topics, such as nonlinear semigroups, inverse problems, numerical methods, and parameter identifiability. Among the applications he studied were flows in porous media, tumor detection in biological tissues, multidimensional imaging, inverse scattering applied to the creation of new materials, chaotic phenomena in wave propagation, and stability and control of shallow arches. As a teacher, he developed and improved various graduate and undergraduate level mathematics courses.
Leonard R. Rubin
Professor Rubin received his Ph.D. in mathematics from Florida State University in 1965, served two years of active duty in the United States Army during 1965-1967, and came to the University of Oklahoma as an Assistant Professor of Mathematics in 1967. He spent 48 years on the OU faculty before retiring in 2015. His research interests are in geometric topology, dimension theory, and extension theory. He exhibited a strong interest in teaching undergraduates as well as graduate students, and directed 10 students to their Ph.D. degrees in mathematics. Professor Rubin's homepage with current vitae.
Luther White
Kevin Grasse
Kevin Grasse received his PhD in Mathematics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1979. In that same year he accepted a faculty position in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Oklahoma, where he served as a faculty member for 37 years before his retirement in 2016. His research specialties are the geometric theory of nonlinear control systems and related parts of nonlinear analysis and differential equations. Grasse's career at OU was highlighted by his appointment as an Editor of the SIAM Journal on Control and Optimization (1989-1995), his service as Interim Chair of Mathematics (1994-1996) and Chair of Mathematics (1996-2000), his supervision of eight successful doctoral students, as well as his receipt of the OU Regents Awards for Superior Service (2009) and Superior Teaching (2014).
Ruediger Landes
Gerard Walschap
Paul Goodey
Paul Goodey received his PhD in 1970 from The University of London. From 1970 to 1983, he served on the faculty of the Department of Mathematics at the Royal Holloway College of London University. In 1983 he emigrated to the United States to join the faculty of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Oklahoma. He retired in 2016 after 46 years of university teaching. During the period 1986-88, he was on leave at the National Science Foundation where he served as Program Director for Geometric Analysis in the Division of Mathematical Sciences. Throughout his career he held numerous visiting positions at universities in the US and Europe. From 2000 to 2012 he served as Chair of the OU Mathematics Department. In 1992, he was the winner of the MAA Regional Outstanding Teacher Award. In 2000, OU awarded him an Edith Kinney Gaylord Presidential Professorship and, in 2014, he was made a George Lynn Cross Research Professor.